Science Exhibits for Sri Lanka Project


Many thanks to our partners, without whose advice, input and help the project would not be possible.

  • Dr. Sarath Kotagama, Professor of Zoology, President of Field Ornithology Group of Sri Lanka, University of Colombo.
  • Dr. S.R.D. Rosa. Professor of Physics, President of the Institute of Physics, University of Colombo.
  • Students from Enviromental Science, University of Colombo
  • Students from Physics Department, University of Colombo
  • Faculty and students from University of Sabaragamuwa in Buttala
  • The National Science Foundation of Sri Lanka, Dr. Sachie Panawala, Scientific Officer
  • Mr. Douglas Ranasinghe, Director of Science Education, Ministry of Education

National Science Foundation of Sri Lanka. Dr. M.C.N. Jayasuriya, Director, Dr. Sachie Panawala, Scientific Officer, Ms. Rohini Wijayantu, Mr. Chinthaka Nadum Ratnaweera, from the Science Popularization Division.

National Science and Technology Commission (and the National Museum in Colombo). Mr. Kapila Perera.

Sirimavo Bandaranaike School in Colombo. Mrs. Pushpa Kalubovilla, Principal.

Samanala Children’s Home, Rattanpity, Mr. Daya Wickramaratne, Director.

Shatraloka Vidyala School in Karuwalabadda. Mr. Saman Chandana, Principal.

Mrs. Brigitte and Mr. Riza Badurdeen of Lets Travel agency, and Mr. Raja Puswella (an independent travel guide in Colombo).

Special thanks to Dr. Betty Webb of Meredith College in Raleigh and Dr. Lucky Andrady of the NC Sri Lankan Association for connecting us with the university students and the schools in Sri Lanka.


Our sponsors deserve a special commendation for supporing this worthwhile project.

Elon University (Kernodle Service Center Community Partnership Initiative Grant, Funds for Excellence in the Arts and Sciences Grant, Teaching and Learning Enhancement Grant, and Support from the Asian Studies, International Studies Programs, and the Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning)

DHL, Packaging Depot (Cary, NC)

Camcor Corporation

Sanjaya and Crista Arangala

Martin Kamela

J. Todd and Hollylynne Lee

Raine Vera

Judy M. Johnson

Gloria Leigh-Logan.