Undergraduate Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2016
August 26–29(Fri–Mon)Orientation
August 29–September 6(Mon–Tue)Drop/Add Period
August 30(Tuesday)Classes Begin
October 14(Friday)Mid-Semester Grades Due by 3:00 p.m.
October 14(Friday)Fall Break Begins Following Afternoon Classes
October 19(Wednesday)Fall Break Ends at 8:00 a.m.
October 19(Wednesday)Mid-Semester Classes Begin
October 21(Friday)Last Day to Withdraw from Course with "W"
October 31(Monday)Last Day to Remove Incomplete "I" and "NR" Grades
November 10(Thursday)Registration Begins for Winter Term & Spring Semester 2017
November 18(Friday)Thanksgiving Holiday Begins Following Evening Classes
November 28(Monday)Thanksgiving Holiday Ends at 8:00 a.m.
December 1(Thursday)Registration for Summer 2017 Begins
December 9(Friday)Classes End
December 10(Saturday)Reading Day
December 12–16(Mon–Fri)Examinations
December 20(Tuesday)Grades Due by 12:00 noon
*Courses that meet only Monday and Wednesday will also meet September 9th.
Winter Term 2017
January 2–4(Mon–Wed)Drop/Add Period
January 3(Tuesday)Classes Begin
January 11(Wednesday)Last Day to Withdraw from Course with "W"
January 16(Monday)Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday
January 24(Tuesday)Classes End
January 25(Wednesday)Examinations
January 27(Friday)Grades Due by 12:00 noon
*Diversity themed events are factored into student instruction time.
Spring Semester 2017
January 27–February 3(Fri–Fri)Drop/Add Period
January 30(Monday)Classes Begin
March 17(Friday)Mid-Semester Grades Due by 3:00 p.m.
March 17(Friday)Spring Break Begins Following Afternoon Classes
March 27(Monday)Spring Break Ends at 8:00 a.m.
March 27(Monday)Mid-Semester Classes Begin
March 29(Wednesday)Last Day to Withdraw from Course with "W"
April 7(Friday)Last Day to Remove Incomplete "I" and "NR" Grades
April 11(Tuesday)Registration Begins for Fall Semester 2017
April 17(Monday)Easter Holiday
April 25(Tuesday)SURF Day (All students expected to attend)
May 9(Tuesday)Classes End
May 10(Wednesday)Reading Day (Evening Exams Begin)
May 11–16(Thurs–Tues)Examinations
May 17(Wednesday)Senior Grades Due by 9:00 a.m.*
May 19(Friday)Grades Due by 12:00 noon
May 20(Saturday)Commencement; Last Day of School
*All students are expected to attend SURF presentations on Tuesday, April 25th. These presentations are factored into student instruction time.
*Senior grades are due twenty-four hours after the final exam is administered.
Summer Session One
May 31–June 2 — Drop/Add Period
June 1 — Classes Begin
June 15 — Last Day to Withdraw from Course with “W”
June 29 — Classes End
June 30 — Final Exams
July 5 — Grades Due by 12:00 noon
Summer Session Two
July 5–7 — Drop/Add Period
July 6 — Classes Begin
July 17 — Last Day to Withdraw from Course with “W”
July 27 — Classes End
July 28 — Final Exams
August 2 — Grades Due by 12:00 noon
Last updated 1/19/2017
Office of the University Registrar