Academic Technology and Computing Committee (ATACC)

Rotating Faculty Members (voting): Crista Coles (Math, ‘02-03), Gene Gooch (Chemistry, ’01-02), Joel Hollingsworth (Computing Sciences, ’02-03), Martin Kamela (Physics, ’02-03), Michele Kleckner (Chair, Computing Sciences, ’01-02), LM Wood (Art, ’01-’02)

Permanent Voting Members:  Chris Fulkerson (Dir. Instr. & Campus Tech), Kate Hickey (Library Dir. and Library Rep).

Student Members:  Mary-Hayden Britton, Richard Coin, Julie Plourde, Michael Polanis

Other Personnel Who Meet Regularly with ATACC:Ron Driscoll (Dir. Inf. Sys. and Tech), Jim Murphy (Dir. Instr. Design and Dev.), Joe Davis (Coord. Media Tech. and Services), Karen Pore (Asst. Reg., liaison with Administrative Computing User’s Group), Tony Rose (Systems Admin).

At the beginning of the 2002-2003 academic year, ATACC set 5 priorities. These priorities include 1)ATACC Software Grants, 2) ATACC Mission Statement, 3) ATACC Website and Tracking Software, 4) Elon Vision for Technology, and 5) ATACC Departmental Representatives.

For the ATACC Software Grants, the primary concern was the amount of time the committee has historically taken to read, prioritize, and potentially award grant money for all grant submissions.

One of our first goals of the year was to minimize the committee’s time on evaluating these software grant proposals.  Jim Murphy was able to streamline the process, combining the submission process for the ATACC Software Grants with the Technology Course Enhancement Grants. The “call for grants” is now made by Jim, and all grant forms are submitted to him.  Jim now makes a first review of all grant proposals.  If the proposal is viable, he then forwards it to the appropriate committee.  This process has been successful, achieving our goal of reducing committee time.

The second priority was to revise ATACC Mission Statement.  A new Mission Statement was presented to the committee by Michele Kleckner prior to the September meeting.  The new Mission Statement (attached) was voted on and approved at the September meeting.

The third priority was to enhance the ATACC website.  This priority was divided into two responsibilities.  Michele Kleckner updated the main website with new committee members, mission statement, and meeting dates.  She also updated the website regularly with meeting agenda and minutes.  Joel Hollingsworth took on the responsibility of maintaining the software tracking database.  The intent of this database is to track nonstandard software used by individual departments across the University.  This tracking software is still being implemented.

The next priority was to access the 2000-2003 Elon Vision for Technology and to begin thinking about a 2003-2006 Elon Vision for Technology.  Because of the enormity of this task, the committee divided into subgroups to work on this priority.  The first step, headed by Martin Kamela and Crista Coles, to look at the current plan, took up a considerable amount of committee time this year.  The committee met with Kaludis Consulting early in December.  The committee discussed leading a Numen-Lumen discussion this year, but instead all faculty were invited to meet with the Kaludis consultant to convey their thoughts and opinions.  Chris Fulkerson coordinated these meetings, as well as a campus visit in January.  The final report is back and appears to be complete.  Not much work has been done on developing a 2003-2006 Elon vision for Technology Plan.  LM Woods set up a Blackboard site to facilitate discussion.  Several subcommittees were also formed.  These committees & their members are:  Classroom & Lab Technology (LM, Crista, Joel), Using Technology Effectively (LM, Crista, Martin), and Computer Competency & Assessment (LM, Martin).  These subcommittees are still in the communication phase.  This should become a priority for ATACC next year.

Finally, Gene Gooch assumed the role of liaison to Department Representatives again this year.  He met &/or communicated with each representative throughout the semester to solicit technology concerns.

In addition to our early priorities, ATACC worked on several additional items.  First, it was brought to the committees’ attention in October that the data projectors in several classrooms were being repaired.  The committee put forward a request to the budget committee to ask for additional projectors for short-term purposes.  Michele Kleckner wrote this letter, addressed to the budget committee, early 2003 asking for 4-5 new data projectors to be used by Media Services for checkout or to replace non-functioning classroom projectors.  This request was never approved.  However, a different request to change the current computer replacement plan from a 3 year replacement plan to a 3 to 4 year replacement plan was discussed and approved in March.  This new plan allows for 14 additional classrooms to have data projectors.  These additional classrooms will help alleviate the need for checking out data projectors from Media Services.

Late October, Academic Council communicated to ATACC a concern presented by faculty over the use of the faculty/staff email list for advertising, selling, and discussion of issues of current interest.  Academic Council asked ATACC to gather all existing policies for using electronic communications on campus.  This has been done.  There are two existing policies – one for e-mail and one for web pages.  Tony Rose proposed a solution of using Public Folders for communication.  He was able to secure these folders for Faculty/Staff only.  Academic Council has decided that because there is not currently a problem with “abusing” the faculty/staff e-mail list that a full implementation of Public Folders may not be necessary at this time.  Michele Kleckner, Martin Kamela, and  Joel Hollingsworth are currently working on a statement of Netiquette for electronic communication at Elon.  This will be presented to the full committee at their May meeting.


Mission Statement

Respectfully submitted
Michele Kleckner


Return to the 2003 Spring Report